Mood Board Monday: Wanderlust Part 2

Oh hey everyone! Sorry I’ve been MIA lately. My life has been taken over by travel and other life events! Most recently, I was in Miami. Now the stark white/art deco/over-the-top style of South Beach is normally not my thing, but I’m a firm believer that when you’re in Rome, you do like the Romans do, so I found myself embracing it. It wasn’t all that hard having ocean-side mojitos, so don’t think that I stretched my boundaries too much. Besides – South Beach has some excellent people watching. So fun!

Now that I’m back in New England, and the weather isn’t a steady 80 degrees with a slight breeze – I’m finding myself missing it. Because of that, and with all of that inspiration still floating around my head, I decided to make it my theme for this week’s mood board. I found a photo that captured the art deco, neon, tropical side of South Beach and went from there.

miami board final1. Miami from here; 2. Coral dress from The Dessy Group – Style LR163 in Firecracker; 3. Wedding dress from Unique Vintage (no longer available); 4. Lounge at Spire Bar from here; 5. Cake from here; 6. Drink from here; 7. Lighting from here; 8. Luminaries from Etsy.

With the Great Gatsby movie coming out, you can find art deco EVERYWHERE. We’re departing a little bit from the 1920’s swank of Great Gatsby, though, and adding details that are very Miami. Think white and coral with neon blue and purple details.

I started with the clothes – both dresses here have art deco touches with the structure on the bodices. They compliment each other without matching exactly. I also like that the white dress has some sparkle in the form of white sequin on the sides.

For the lounge area, I would take a page out of the book of the Spire Bar, which is pictured in the above  photo. I love this place – It is the perfect spot to have a rooftop mojito, and I love  the white furniture with the coral-red pillows and the striped floor.

You can bring the neon details in with light-up cocktails (LED ice cubes do the trick), and possibly some rope light at the bar. If your DJ or venue has other lighting, you can also add pink, purple, or blue uplighting around your party. (side note – I am normally not a fan of colored uplighting, especially at weddings. I think it can get  tacky very quickly. But this is Miami-inspired, so over-the-top it is!). The luminaries that I pictured above for table numbers have an art deco style, and can be lit up with colored lights as well.

I hope this makes you want to run away to the beach. If not, I will have a Miami-inspired cocktail for you on Friday and I’m sure that will do the trick! In the  meantime  – Check out my past travel-themed mood board here (Morocco), and look out for more in the future!

renee sig

One thought on “Mood Board Monday: Wanderlust Part 2

  1. Pingback: LED Lighted Bar Station | SPECIAL EVENTS IN COLORADO | Production Services

Leave a Reply

