Signature Cocktails: Bleeding Mimosa

bleeding mimosa header

You may have seen this lovely cocktail floating around the internet. It has been popping up in my Pinterest feed for a few weeks now. Since I’ve recently been toying with blood oranges, and I had one lying around and waiting for me to turn it into something awesome, I decided to give it a shot.

I hand-juiced a half of a blood orange and froze it into a cube and topped it with some cava. The visual was very lovely – the cube melts pretty quickly, giving a bleeding effect. With the taste, however, I wasn’t as impressed as I would like to have been. I think it could have used two blood orange cubes, which would have taken the whole orange. Note that I didn’t have a citrus juicer, so my juicing wasn’t very efficient. I think you’d be able to get twice as much juice out with the right tools. Anyway, to amp up the orange flavor, I added a little bit of my own twist to the drink.

bleeding mimosa

Bleeding Mimosa Cocktail

  • Blood oranges, juiced
  • Triple Sec
  • Champagne (or Prosecco, or Cava…. whatever floats your fancy. I used Cava.)

Freeze the juice of a few blood oranges into cubes (around one blood orange to two drinks, more if you don’t have a juicer of some sort). Place 1-2 cubes into each champagne flute. Top with a dash of triple sec and fill the rest of the way with the bubbly stuff. If you like your drinks on the sweeter side, try adding a bit of simple syrup with the triple sec.

NOTE: Because the cubes don’t last very long (even in well-chilled champagne), make sure these are served immediately. The effect is lovely and people should see it! If you are serving this at a party, these would work better as passed cocktails rather than serve-yourself bar cocktails. Think of passing them around with appetizers at a dinner party, or serving them to a group of friends during brunch. And as always, let me know how it turns out!

Cheers!

renee sig

Leave a Reply

