Internet Beauty Test Subject: DIY Dry Shampoo

Dry shampoo

I am one of those young ladies that does not wash my hair every day. I even went as far as to not shampoo my hair for a few months (also called “no poo” – bah ha). However, I’m back to using a sulfate free shampoo every few days. So, as you can imagine, I find dry shampoos pretty exciting (especially DIY!).  This is something that you can use between washes that will absorb the oil and keep your hair looking fresh.

Hypothesis: Baking soda and corn starch will act as a dry shampoo and absorb the excess oil in your hair.

Prediction: I’ve heard of using baking soda in your hair in between washes, so I think this will be a new staple in my beauty routine.

Test: I found this blog with a simple DIY dry shampoo and decided to use it as my test subject. I mixed 1/2 cup of corn starch and 1/2 cup of baking powder in a bowl and put it into a small mason jar. I took a little bit of the mixture in my palm and spread it out over my hands. Then, with my head tipped over I started at the scalp and spread it throughout my hair. After leaving it for a few minutes I went through my hair with a fine-tooth comb.

Analysis: This DIY dry shampoo was effortless to make and even easier to use. I’ve tried store-bought dry shampoos before and they made my hair feel stiff. This was more of a light feeling and I noticed that the grease from the day wasn’t as noticeable. My hair is light brown so I did notice that it looked a little white before I combed it out.

Ratings:
Cost: About $4.00.

Time Consumed: It took about 5 minutes to prepare the dry shampoo and 2 minutes to apply it.

Pre-Event Feasibility: “Dirty” hair holds better in hairstyles than clean hair does. So, if you’re planning to get your hair done, this dry shampoo would be a great thing to use to keep the grease at bay.

This is a great item to have in your bag post-party too! After my hair has been through the mill with product and styling tools I need something to bring back the freshness.

End Result: There are other recipes for dry shampoo. For example, there are some for darker hair made with cocoa powder. I’ll probably try adding a little bit of cocoa powder to my mixture so it doesn’t look like I’m wearing a powdered wig.

I’ll be back in a few weeks, my  friends… I’m heading to Europe. I’ll miss youuuuu.

IMG_0981

Leave a Reply

