Internet Beauty Test Subject: Apple Cider Vinegar Facial Toner

photo (4) updateIf you’re like me, you Google everything. One thing I found during one of my many Google searches is that Apple Cider Vinegar (the good stuff – with the ‘Mother’) has many unbelievable health and beauty benefits. I started taking it about 6 months ago as a health tonic, however, I recently found out that ACV and water make a great facial toner. Vinegar has malic and lactic acid which help to clear acne, exfoliate and soften your face. ACV also naturally balances the pH of your skin. A few weeks ago I decided to make the facial toner using Bragg’s ACV, and here’s what I found:

Hypothesis: Apple Cider Vinegar mixed with water makes a great facial toner.    

Prediction: Because ACV is more acidic, it naturally balances the pH of the skin, therefore I think it will at least help to dry out my skin (or make it less oily).

Test: First, I found a small mason jar to use as a container (you can find them here or at any grocery store). Then, I added the ACV to the jar and mixed it with filtered water. I started with a 1:1 ratio of ACV to water (but feel free to adjust to your skin type) and used a cotton round to swipe all over my face, avoiding your eyes. I let the toner air dry and applied a small amount of moisturizer.

Analysis: After my first application of the ACV toner I immediately noticed that my face was brighter. Now, 3 weeks later, my face feels softer and I don’t have as many breakouts. But beware! It does have a strong smell. I mean, it stinks. And it may make your eyes burn for a second (from the fumes I guess?) so close them while you’re applying the toner. The good news is, after a few uses you won’t notice the smell as much.

Ratings:
Cost: You can buy Bragg’s ACV at your local grocery store (I found mine at Stop & Shop) for approximately $4.00 for a 16 oz. bottle.

Time Consumed: It takes about 5 minutes to prepare and use the toner. Easy peasy lemon squeezy.

Pre-Event Feasibility: If your planning a wedding or party then you’re probably looking for ways to save money on other things. This is an inexpensive way to get the natural glow while clearing up your skin! It’s 2 for 1 day at Sarah’s Beauty Emporium!

End Result: I really believe that everyone should at least give this a try. This is my new facial toner. I no longer spend money on the fancy stuff.

Have you tried the ACV facial toner or any other strange beauty trick? Leave us a comment below!

~Sarah

One thought on “Internet Beauty Test Subject: Apple Cider Vinegar Facial Toner

Leave a Reply

