12 Days of Christmas Cocktails: Cranberry Ginger Fizz

I’m a big fan of the combination of cranberry and ginger, so when I saw this cocktail I knew I had to give it a try.  Normally, I’m not a huge fan of gin, it’s just too floral for my tastes.  But I found that with this drink, the cranberry and ginger complement the gin quite nicely.   The original recipe that I worked from can be found over at Creative Culinary.  I’ve decided to simplify things a bit as I really wasn’t in the mood to muddle and boil and slice fruit.  If you’re up for it, then by all means go ahead.  Leave us a comment below and tell us how your final product turned out.

gin fizz

Cranberry Ginger Fizz

1/4 cup ginger ale
1/4 cup cranberry juice (I used %100 juice with no added sugar)
1 oz dry gin (I used Seagrams)
dash of lemon juice
ice

Fill a glass with ice and add gin, cranberry juice, lemon, and ginger ale.  Garnish with 3 cranberries and a sprig of mint to resemble holly and you’ve got an instant cup of cheer.

gingerfizz

The original recipe calls for a cranberry simple syrup instead of the cranberry juice.  I happened to have some simple syrup on hand after making candied cranberries so I did add a teaspoon of that.  However, I felt that it made the drink a bit too sweet for my tastes as I like my cranberries on the tart side.  If you like your cranberries a bit sweeter then you can give this a try, but in my opinion the sugar in the ginger ale is more than enough to balance out the tartness of the cranberry juice.

ginger_fizz

Have you tried any of our cocktails?  Do you have something you want us to try?  Leave us a comment and let us know!

~Laurie

Leave a Reply

