Internet Beauty Test Subject: DIY Body Scrubs

In the winter my skin can always use a little extra lovin’, whether it’s exfoliating with a loofa or one of those fancy body scrubs. Why not try and make a body scrub with ingredients from your cabinet? Why not try and make TWO body scrubs?!

I found two great DIY body scrubs from Corrie’s Kitchen Spa: the first one is a Brown Sugar Scrub (sounds heavenly, eh?). The second scrub is a Citrus Salt Body Scrub.

Question: How can I make those lovely body scrubs in my own home?

Hypothesis: With ingredients found in your own kitchen, you can make a body scrub that you could find in a swanky body shop.

Prediction: With one look at the ingredients, I thought: this should be awesome. Vitamin E? Heck yes. Honey? Oh, it’s party time. All of these things, with exfoliants such as brown sugar and sea salt, are amazing for your skin.

Brown Sugar Scrub:
1 cup dark brown sugar
1/2 cup extra virgin olive oil
1 teaspoon vitamin E (from a capsule)
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1 tablespoon honey

In a medium bowl mix the olive oil, vitamin E (extracted from capsule) vanilla and honey, add the brown sugar and mix well.

The only difficult part about making this scrub was finding a way to get the vitamin E out of the capsule. Things got a little dangerous when I tried to use a knife. Here’s how to do it in a safe and efficient way.

Ingredients for the Brown Sugar Scrub

Brown Sugar Scrub Ingredients

Citrus Salt Body Scrub:
1/2 cup sea salt
1/2 cup sweet almond oil or extra virgin olive oil
1/2 teaspoon lemon zest
1/2 teaspoon orange zest

Mix all ingredients in a medium bowl, making sure that the bowl is dry (the salt will dissolve if there is any water in the bowl).

Ingredients for the Citrus Salt Body Scrub

Citrus Salt Body Scrub Ingredients

Test: I decided to make both scrubs at the same time in two different bowls. The recipes seemed easy enough. Once both scrubs were finished, I brought the bowls into the bathroom with me and set them right next to the shower. I used the Brown Sugar Scrub on one side of my body and the Citrus Salt Body Scrub on the other (why not, right?). I got out of the shower and gently dried my skin.

Analysis: I suffer from a mild case of Keratosis pilaris, which is just a fancy name for little, itchy bumps on my arms. Therefore, I’m always looking for ways to keep my skin exfoliated and hydrated. After using both scrubs on my arms last night, my skin feels amazing today. I didn’t notice a difference between the two scrubs, they both made my arms and legs feel very smooth.

Ratings:
Cost: $10.00 (depending upon what you have in your cabinets)
Time Consumed: 20 minutes (prep time: 10 minutes, shower time: 1o minutes)
Pre-Event Feasibility: This is an easy and inexpensive way to get soft, glowing skin without going to the spa. In my opinion, the Brown Sugar Scrub works better in the winter months because of it’s warm and luxurious scent. The Citrus Salt Scrub, with it’s refreshing scent, would be great in the summer to give a nice glow to dull skin.

End Result: Just put the scrubs in a mason jar, add a ribbon and a personal label and voilà! You have a great gift idea for the holidays or a fun gift for your bridesmaids! You could also use these as a favor for a bridal shower or a spa party. Or you could hoard them and use them yourself.

photo

Do you have a body scrub that you can’t live without? Are you giving any as gifts this year? I’d love to hear from you – leave a comment below!

Check back in next week for another post from yours truly, the Internet Beauty Test Subject!

~Sarah

Leave a Reply

