12 Days of Christmas Cocktails: Homemade Eggnog

Let me preface this post with this: I’m an on-the-fence eggnog drinker. I have it once a year, heavily laden with some sort of booze, mostly out of tradition. So when I was looking for Christmas cocktails and noticed that we were light in the eggnog category, I decided that I would take it on, but this time I would make it from scratch. And who better to guide me than my own personal foodie hero, Mr. Alton Brown.

I got the recipe from here. The only change I made was that I didn’t use whole nutmeg – the store I went to didn’t carry it. I used ground nutmeg and it still came out okay, but I know how good fresh-ground nutmeg is, so if you have the chance – use that.

Warning – though it comes out light and fluffy, this is not a light drink. Whole milk plus cream plus raw eggs. You get the idea.

20121211-103816.jpg

Eggnog

  • 4 egg yolks
  • 1/3 cup sugar plus a little extra
  • 1 pint whole milk
  • 1 cup heavy cream
  • 3 ounces of some sort of booze product (I used Jack Daniels, because that’s what I had on hand. It was delicious, but next time I’ll try some dark or spiced rum, as I’m sure those will ALSO be delicious).
  • 1 tsp nutmeg plus more for garnish (freshly grated or already ground, either way. This came out SUPER nutmeggy (totally a word). If you’re not into that sort of thing, you may want to go lighter on the nutmeg.
  • 4 egg whites

In a mixing bowl, beat the egg yolks until they are a little lighter yellow than they started. Add in the 1/3 cup of sugar and continue beating until the sugar is dissolved. Add in the milk, cream, booze, and nutmeg. Mix together or beat on a low setting.

In a smaller mixing bowl, beat egg whites to soft peaks. Add the extra sugar (about a tbsp, but I didn’t measure) and beat to stiff peaks. Pour into the rest of the nog and whisk in to combine. Pour into fancy glasses and use a little nutmeg to garnish

This makes a super-frothy and lovely drink that serves probably around 8 people. I prefer it to the store-bought because it’s not as sweet and – even though its ingredients are pretty heavy – it seemed lighter and easier to drink.

Raw egg warning!!! Consume raw eggs at your own risk! And use caution and common sense if you plan on doing so! If the raw egg thing skeeves you out a bit, Alton has a cooked adaptation of the recipe you can use. I didn’t cook anything, but I washed the eggs beforehand and made sure that the egg contents didn’t touch the outside of the shell when I cracked them. I also made sure to use super fresh, well-refrigerated, grade-a eggs.

Keep checking back for more Christmassy concoctions! Cheers!

~Renee

Leave a Reply

