Signature Cocktails: Beer Float

Don’t tell anyone – It’s a surprise – but, tomorrow I’m throwing my husband a 30th birthday party with around 65 of our closest friends and family members. He’s internet-averse, so I have no problem posting about it here.

And you know what? Throwing a party for a dude is HARD. Flowers? No. Pretty things? No.

I decided to base the theme around a few of his favorite things. Specifically beer, cheese, and chocolate. So In the spirit of tomorrow’s man party, and upcoming posts about the challenges and joys of throwing such an event, I give you a cocktail that is beer-based. With chocolate. And because it’s me writing this post, the cocktail also contains ice cream.

I’m sort of a recovering beer snob, so I’m not used to putting things in my beer, but I thought I’d give it a shot. This was dessert for me last night, and I was pretty happy with it.

20121130-123407.jpg

Chocolate Milk Stout Beer Float

  • 1 12 oz bottle Milk Stout (I used a bomber of a local brew, but I think Left Hand’s version would actually work better)
  • 2 scoops of chocolate ice cream (I used a local-ish ice cream that claimed to be the best?)
  • OPTIONAL dash or two of the liqueur of your choosing (I used Kahlua Cinnamon Spice)
  • Chocolate syrup

20121130-123331.jpg

Drop a scoop of ice cream into the bottom of two glasses. Top with liqueur. SLOWLY pour in beer (about 6 oz). Drizzle chocolate. Sit back and marvel at the fact that you are an adult and can add beer to your ice cream. So good.

Next Friday we will kick off our Christmas Cocktail series. We have a pack of 12 of them on the ready for you, so get your liquor cabinets stocked and keep checking back! Cheers!

Leave a Reply

