Internet Beauty Test Subject: DIY Chocolate Face Mask

Gone are the days that chocolate was thought to be the cause of acne problems. In fact, many spas are offering their clients expensive chocolate facial treatments. After all, cocoa has natural antioxidant properties, as well as shea and cocoa butters, which are naturally moisturizing. I’ve been seeing the single treatment face masks at my local grocery store for months. They sell different masks for less than 2 dollars (!!). So, I bought the Montagne Jeunesse Chocolate Masque (pictured below). You can also buy the mask here. I also kept coming across DIY chocolate face masks on the internet. I thought it must be a sign. So, why not compare a store-bought chocolate mask and a DIY chocolate mask?

I found the DIY chocolate face mask on this website, but you can find them all over the internet with various recipes.

This particular recipe combines:

·      1/3 cup of dark coach powder
·      1/4 cup organic honey
·      3 tablespoons of heavy cream
·      2 tablespoons of powdered oatmeal

 Question: Does the DIY chocolate face mask have the same benefits as the store-bought mask?

Hypothesis: The anti-inflammatory and antioxidant properties in chocolate, as well as the benefits of the other ingredients, will make my skin soft and smooth.

Prediction: I predicted they will both make my skin feel lovely because of their ingredients – the store bought face mask will probably be easier to do, but the DIY mask also has the potential to be easy if you already have the ingredients in your kitchen. I knew I had to keep in mind that the  ingredients of the store-bought mask are a little different than the DIY mask.

Test: I did this test in a span of about 2 1/2 weeks, since it is suggested that you don’t use a facemask more than once a week. I tried the store bought mask first.

I put the contents of the package into a bowl and washed my face with warm water (open those pores!). Using a foundation brush, I applied the mask evenly to my face (see awkward picture below). I left it on for about 15 minutes, rinsed it off, and applied a small amount of moisturizer.

The next week I tried the DIY face mask. I already had honey and oatmeal, but I had to go out and get cocoa and heavy cream. Once I had the ingredients, I mixed them together in a bowl. This is where things got a little hairy. It was supposed to be turning into a paste… and it wasn’t. 1/3 cup of cocoa seemed like a lot, so I had to add quite a bit of heavy cream to the mixture. Finally, after mixing for a while I had somewhat of a working paste. Using a foundation brush to apply was out of the question -it was too chunky. So, I used my fingers.  I ended up getting chocolate mask on my sleeves and all up my arms and neck. This recipe also made WAY too much mask (pictured below). Anyway, I left the mixture on my face for 15 minutes and then rinsed with warm water. Again, I applied a small amount of moisturizer to my face.

Suggestion: There was an option online to substitute plain yogurt for heavy cream. So I decided to give it a try a few days later. Instead of using 1/3 cup cocoa I decided to use a little less. The mixture still made way too much of the mask, but the yogurt made it a much smoother consistency. It also felt nice and tingly on my face.

Analysis: The store-bought mask was easy: no prep, easy application and no mess. After using it my face felt like butter. So soft and smooth. Magical. The DIY mask was more of a project. If you already have the ingredients in your kitchen then it would be a fun pampering idea on a Saturday morning. For anyone who wants to do the DIY face mask, I would suggest using a lot less of each ingredient and substituting plain yogurt for heavy cream. Both masks made my face feel amazing afterwards.

Ratings:

Cost: You can feel like you’re getting a spa treatment for less than $20.00 – in the comfort of your own home. Possibly in sweat pants.

Store-bought: $1.60

DIY: $15.00 or less (depending on what you have in your kitchen)

Time Consumed:

Store-bought: 20 minutes

DIY: 30 minutes

Pre-Event Feasibility: I think both of these masks are a great idea before any wedding or event. It’s an inexpensive way to really take a moment for yourself without going to the spa. I would suggest doing this a few days before the event for silky, smooth, glowing skin.

End Result: My skin felt wonderful after both treatments – but the store-bought mask was a much more enjoyable experience. Have fun with it!

Do you have any DIY masks that you swear by? Or any that you’re not sure about? I’d love to try some out for you. Leave a comment below!

6 thoughts on “Internet Beauty Test Subject: DIY Chocolate Face Mask

  1. I have used this chocolate mask too – I quite like it, it smells so good that it always makes me eat loads of chocolate afterwards 🙂

  2. Hint: Next time you want to compare 2 facial products… do 1/2 face with one and the other 1/2 with the second product. That way you can do a side-by-side comparison. : ^ )
    (Little MK beauty consultant trick.)

Leave a comment