Internet Beauty Test Subject: DIY Hair Smoothie

Hi guys! In the coming weeks I will be testing out different beauty treatments, tips and tricks that I find across the interwebs. I will be posting my process and findings in the form of the scientific method (nerd alert).

This week I tried a hair smoothie – I found this particular recipe on the Pink Pistachio blog . I was immediately sold on the idea. I love trying new things with my hair, face, nails, etc.

These DIY hair smoothies are great if you’re feeling like your hair is overworked or damaged and needs a little extra lovin’.

Question: How can I give my hair a boost?

Hypothesis: If I mix fruits and vegetables and other magical ingredients together and put it in my hair, it will become shiny and soft.

Prediction: All of these ingredients have pretty awesome benefits for your hair. With that being said, I predict my hair will look and feel better. I’ve listed some of the benefits below so when people ask you how your hair got so awesome you know exactly what to say.

Banana: Keeps hair hydrated and healthy – fighting against the dreaded dry, itchy and flaky scalp.

Avocado: Repairs and rehydrates hair with that good fat.

Yogurt: Promotes hair growth, fights dandruff and prevents frizziness (a triple threat).

Egg: Strengthens, adds moisture and shine to your locks.

Honey: A humectant – which is a cool word for keeping in moisture.

Spinach: Isn’t it IRONic? No? Ok, well anyway, it adds volume and strength.

The Pink Pistachio recipe also called for strawberries. The seeds act like an exfoliant to remove excess buildup on the scalp. I opted to leave the strawberries out this time. If you’re feeling like you need an exfoliant – BE WARNED – I still had strawberry seeds in my hair after 2 shampoos.

Test:

Ingredients: 1/2 a banana, 1/2 an avocado, 1 cup plain yogurt, 1 egg, handful of spinach, 1 teaspoon honey.

1.) Put the ingredients in blender. Mix well!

2.) Put the smoothie in your hair starting at the roots and covering all of your hair. Really work it into your scalp. Things could get a little messy, so either have a towel ready or do it in the bathtub.

3.) Put your hair in a clip or in a shower cap. Leave in for 15 – 30 minutes.

4.) Shampoo your hair (I shampooed my hair twice with a mild shampoo) with warm water. Next, condition your hair rinsing with cool water.

5.) Blow dry your hair.

Analysis: I had dyed my hair blonde for many years, and now I am back to my natural color. Needless to say, my hair has been through the wringer and I am trying to get it healthy again.

The first time I tried this hair smoothie, I had strawberries seeds stuck in my scalp. Not a good look. After giving it another chance without the strawberries I am very pleased with the results. My hair was soft, shiny and smooth.

Ratings:

Cost: This was very cost effective, as I already had most of the ingredients in my fridge. Also, I was able to use the remaining food to make a nice salad and snack.

Time Consumed: This took about 40 minutes including prep time. I decided to take a bath while it was in my hair.

Pre-Event Feasibility: If you have a big event or wedding coming up and you are getting your hair done professionally, this would be a great idea to do 2 or 3 weeks prior to the event.

If you have a wedding or event during or just after the summer months, your hair has most likely been exposed to sun, salt and all that other stuff that can dry it out. This could help bring your hair back to life!

It could also be a great bridal party or girls’ night in pampering idea. Have fun with it – try some or all ingredients, they all have great benefits for your hair.

End Result: My hair loved it. I’m a victim of split ends and dryness and I really noticed a difference.

I’d love to hear if anyone has tried any fun hair treatments or smoothies. Also, if there are any beauty treatments you’ve found on the internet that you want me to test for you, please leave a comment!

Leave a Reply

