Pretty Things: Wedding Gown Trends for 2013

I had two other posts in my head for today, but I will confess –  this is neither of them. Another confession – for my own wedding, the dress was an afterthought. I bought it for $250 and wasn’t in love with it, but it served its purpose. While I sort of regret this, I didn’t regret the money it saved me to put toward music and food.

Today, though,  I was up super early messing around with the internets on my phone, and Pinterest spoke to me. I keep seeing fresh-off-the-runway photos of gowns that are displaying some common trends. These are my favorite three. If I were to do my own wedding over, some of the dresses below would probably be in the running.

color gowns text

Clockwise from top left: Red Vera Wang from here; Blue Oscar de la Renta from here; Black Atelier Aimee from here; Gold BHLDN Isadora gown from here.

Do you know how many shades of white there are? Too many. Go into any gown shop and they will rattle them off to you as you stare dumbfounded. White, ivory, pearl, eggshell, diamond… How about red? Blue? One of my favorite trends this year is going totally against the white dress standard and wearing whatever color you feel awesome in. I will go for the gold one, please and thank you.

ruffle gowns text

Clockwise from top left: Monique Lhuillier from here; Oscar de la Renta from Style Me Pretty; Monique Lhuillier’s Amber from here; Vera Wang from Style Me Pretty.

I love this trend. Mostly simple tops, but big crazy ruffly skirts. To me, this is everything a wedding dress should be. Classy but somehow still sort of over the top. And how amazing is that Vera Wang on the bottom left? I need to find an excuse to wear that.

sheer gowns text

Clockwise from top left: Christos gown from here;  Monique Lhuillier from here; Sheer shoulder detailed gown from Style Me Pretty; Jane Yeh from here.

I’m seeing this everywhere – not only in wedding gowns. Sheer details, especially around the neckline, are a great option if you’re looking for a little embellishment without beading or too much glitz. Understated, but eye-catching.

Did I skip your favorite trend? Let me know! And if you’re wearing any of these dresses for your event, I want to know that too! Or we could just chat and be friends? Either way, leave us a comment.

renee sig

Leave a Reply

